Project 3, Exercise- Abstract painting from man-made form

For this exercise, I wanted to use the process that I had applied for the exercise before and so chose a fabric doorstop that took the form of a fox. Firstly, I sketched a few basic compositions of different viewpoints of the doorstop, concentrating on looking at the entire 360 degree view of the doorstop.

One of the basic sketches that I had produced looked rather like a portrait pose, and so I decided to take this further and produced a more detailed line drawing including the patchwork of the fabric, a tonal study, and also a coloured study, that I decided to simplify in the final piece, as I believe there would be too many shapes and patterns.

Below is the final piece for this exercise produced with watercolour which I am very happy with. With this being an abstract exercise, I wanted to put an emphasis on the shapes in the patchwork of the doorstop and so I tried to create blocks of colour with a concentration of colour on the edges which I believe worked extremely well to create an arrangement of shapes joined together to form another overall shape, and I believe the limited palette of browns and oranges worked well on the coffee stained background.

IMG_7351

Leave a comment