Project 1, Exercise- Getting to know your brushes

When reading the first exercise of the entire course, I was pleasantly surprised that the first project was all to do with creating textures and different surfaces. With this in mind, I wanted to choose bold colours that would create a strong finish and dramatic effects. This being so I chose mars black, rose, ultramarine and scarlet which would show good concentrated areas of paint against watered or fading pigment. I then went on to experiment with brush techniques that I already knew and find other applications that would give an interesting finish. Examples of these techniques were swirls, dry brush, dabbing, stifling and cross hatch.

After a good amount of time experimenting, I chose a pineapple as the piece of fruit to recreate using the found brush strokes. Using splurges of acrylic, dabbing, sweeping lines and even a cotton bud for the highlights I am content with the study I made of the subject, creating a depth by the use of shadow but also the layers of dabbed acrylic for the leaves of the pineapple.IMG_6657Next, was the simple landscape made with large brush strokes and for this I chose my favourite local spot of Towneley Hall, Burnley. Towneley has some lovely views but the best of nature is a willow tree just beside the lake and so having seen the view many times, it was extremely easy to reimagine on paper. Beginning with the tree, I used swirls of burnt orange to create the main bulk of the tree as this was my favourite effect that I found with the experimentation, and then continued onto fashioning the rest of the landscape. The study may not be the most adventurous, but I do believe that it conveys a variety of marks made with brushes, and that the chosen techniques compliment each other well.IMG_6668

Leave a comment