Project 5, Exercise- Squaring Up

For this exercise I chose to find a photograph on the internet relating to childhood memories, in which my grandparents took me to Gargrave, Skipton every Summer to visit the stepping stones. Regarding the technique of squaring up, I had never liked mapping areas and shapes out with the use of a grid and so I was worried about what the outcome would be like.

 

Having sketched a quick and rough smaller scale version of the drawing , I converted the photo into a square form of the photograph, and mapped out the shapes that I would be using. With this being a landscape, I did find the technique much easier as my previous experiences had been with drawing portraits into grids which I found tight and restrictive, but the natural layout of the landscape gave much more freedom in this piece. After having sketched all the main shapes I began painting with acrylic and only used the sketch as a guideline as to where certain objects should lie, and also simplified the landscape in order to prevent crowded areas or complicated layers, as I had not had much experience with this technique.

Looking at the final painting, I am extremely pleased with how it turned out, as I believe this is one of the best pieces in this section of the course, and I will certainly be using this technique in the future to help and also quicken the process of sketching landscapes.

IMG_7027

Leave a comment