Project 2, Exercise- Overlaying washes

As advised in the exercise I chose a few of my previous washes of colour to experiment with in this exercise and proceeded to give the washes an extra lick of paint, some straight over the whole wash, some over just half, in order to see the difference side by side. In doing this I was able to notice a slight change in intensity, but I do not believe it changed the application of the paint or produced a sense of control when applying the paint once again. However, these washes do remind me of stained glass windows and the idea of strength and weakness in pigment,  and also the free movement of colour and how when it is applied and connected with other colours, the washes could become a part of a beautiful composition and piece.

Continuing in applying a second wash I also chose different colours to blend from the clear part of the transparent wash, to see what wet on dry would look like, and when ignoring the rough edge of the second layer the colours do blend and disappear into one another well.

I’m sure these overlaying techniques would be an excellent base for paintings and changes in backgrounds, in particular a sky with a sunrise or sunset, and also the build up of clouds when thin layers are built up to produce weight and presence.

 

 

 

Leave a comment