Project 3, Exercise- Colour Accuracy

IMG_6854

Out of this project, this was actually the last still life painting that I produced, and so I used a previous sketch of this composition from the still life using colour to evoke mood, and began sketching out a basic composition as the brief stated not to pay attention to detail, but instead create a more tonal painting, and so I concentrated on creating more of a tonal study with colours that matched the actual items of the composition.

With the final piece shown below, I am extremely pleased with the outcome, and believe the style is aesthetically pleasing having the combination of colour and tone. As to the colour accuracy, I believe that simplifying the style made the choice of colour much easier, and so I was able to create very accurate matches to the composition in front of me, which held a muted feminine feature. All colour choices were accurate apart from the bedding at the left hand side, which in reality is beige, but I deliberately changed this into a mauve nude in order to break up the cream table and wallpaper, which I believe helps lift the composition instead make the objects look lost on a cream background.

IMG_7294

Leave a comment