Project 2, Exercise- Tonally graded wash

 

For this exercise, I decided to chose ultramarine as the colour to create the washes with. At first I found achieving a gradient hard to accomplish with paint straight from the palette even after having practiced smaller washes, and then it occurred to me that trying to create a gradient with a thick substance and flat surface would not work. With this I moved my paper onto a slope and began producing a wet was before applying the paint. With this technique the concentrated paint at the top of the page stayed put and when eased together with with wet wash and a large brush, sweeped down the page to create a gentle change in pigment and a gradual fade into the white page. From above one can see the different levels of success of the washes and how the water had a great impact in the smooth surface of the washes.

Once I had satisfactory washes, I moved onto the recommended wet on wet technique, blending complimentary colours together joining them together with a mutual colour connection. Surprisingly, I found these washes more challenging than the former, as it was difficult in blending a concentrated colour from the bottom of the page, as gravity intercepted and delayed the completion of the lower half of the washes.

Leave a comment