Project 1, Exercise- Mixing greys- anachromatic scale

IMG_6865

This exercise was quite a simple task, and I do believe that it was a good starting point in understanding tones and shades. As recommended I produced a scale from black to white and repeated until I had a steady and confident gradient of colour blocks, and then found the equidistant swatch in order to find the neutral grey and made an extra swatch of the shade next to the scales, which actually surprised me, being darker than I expected it to be.

After applying it to scraps of paper, I noticed that against the white, the neutral grey looked almost black in comparison and didn’t look at all like any shade of grey that would be close to white. However, standing next to the black, the swatch of grey looked considerably lighter, but still in dark enough to almost look like a watery wash of black.

Additionally, with looking at both scraps against the end of scales, the greys did not look like to the same shade purely due to the contrast of the black and white ends of the scale. I know that this is a technique well known in art, and the idea of the same colour looking quite different simply due to where it is placed in a composition, which I believe gives more intrigue with the tonal values of pieces and even the composition of colour.

Leave a comment