Project 5, Exercise- Painting from a working drawing

For this painting, I wanted to create a scene in our house and specifically a corner of the house. My brother has a 6 month old little girl and with a new baby comes colour and happiness and changes your life forever. Our house has always had many neutral tones of brown, taupe, bronze and gold and so with my niece came a vast contrast of pink, green and yellow, and I wanted to focus on the colour and the contrast of youth and age in relation to colour.

After having produced the linear, tonal and colour studies shown above, I was able to picture a rough image of the what the painting would look like and began sketching and then painting using the three studies as guidelines to what the corner looked like. Whilst painting I kept to the idea of a very neutral space with one area of colour, and the finished piece was better than I expected it to turn out like.

IMG_7030

Regarding the sketches, these gave a great base for the painting as a reference to the basic shapes and arrangement as well as the distribution of tone to make sure there was variation throughout the page. As for the style, using only the sketches and in particular the linear study gave an opportunity to simply paint freely and just create a style by not having any restrictions. As this painting connected to youth and babies, I was glad at how simple the style was with blocks of colour and tone not necessarily including detail, but concentrating on the message and story.

After reading my written report for this piece, I was advised to correct the perspective of the table in order to make the piece more accurate, and so with a small change, the piece looks much better as above the table looks as though it is disappearing as it comes closer to the viewer rather than getting smaller as table comes away from the viewer. By changing this, the table looks stable and correct which is shown below.

IMG_7295

Leave a comment