Project 1, Exercise- Applying paint without brushes

For this exercise, I used a wide variety of things to apply the paint from the typical palette knife to my own finger print. Against the previous exercise, this was definitely the most intriguing as using credit cards and odd bits and bobs created uncontrolled layers, gradients, surfaces and shapes which made me think of a quite primitive nature without style or guidance in the setting of the paint. Unlike a standard application of paint, this allowed a certain degree of freedom for the paint which fashioned textures which would probably not be able to be recreated. Again like in the last exercise, I used a rose shade which helped create and emphasise the variation and distribution of pigment well, and I hope that there will be extra opportunity to experiment with unusual applicants of the paint mediums.

Leave a comment