Project 3, Exercise- Exploring contrasts

For this exercise I chose a bright rose pink in order to show a strong colour against similar shades and colours. With surrounding the rose with similar colours, I was able to see how similar colours do compliment the inner but can clash with other surrounding colours. I also matched the rose to a white to black scale, and surprisingly all the colours went well with the pink, whereas a green or an orange might clash.

With the complementary colours, I picked yellow and violet, and I believe the yellow inside the violet looks rather like an abstract daisy, which makes it the nicest in comparison. I find the vast contrast quite surprising though as the inner colour seems drained by its surrounding colour, and loses its vibrancy.

As for the grey squares I found that within the yellow and violet , the grey took on a tinge of blue, but alone with the white looked simply like a neutral grey, which I guess shows how a neutral colour can take a tinge of colour when put beside a vibrant pigment, and how a monochrome palette does not alter a shade of colour.

IMG_6818

Leave a comment