Project 1, Exercise- Hard or soft landscape

With this exercise, the latter option had more of an intrigue for me and the idea of bright colours and shapes and so my first move was to find a soft landscape, which I did in the South Downs, which I found to have the perfect gentle rolling hills and opportunity to capture the shapes and forms. When I found a good view I began making a linear, colour and tonal study in order to get to grips with the landscape, and also created a few skies in my sketchbook with cerulean and ultramarine blue.

When I looked at the studies, I realised that the hills were all green and there would be no variation or contrast in the composition, and so I decided to paint a few swatches of the possible colours that I wanted to use and then produced colour studies including the colours that I had personally chosen before starting on the final piece.

Below is my final piece, which I am very pleased with regarding how it matches with the criteria of the exercise. With this piece, I was able to create layers by fading the bottom of the hills as a new one came out with a sharp crisp line, and I was able to imply the trees with simply colour and a wonky edge of the block of colour. As this was an exercise in which you had to focus on shapes and colour, I am happy with the vibrancy and the shapes put together to create a depth and smooth texture as a soft landscape.

IMG_7028

Leave a comment