Project 2, Exercise- Linear Perspective

Living on a main street was a big help for this exercise, as I could look out of our window and find perspective uphill and downhill as we live on a straight block that is in the middle of a curved road. With this being so, I wanted to emphasise distance with the use of the road and the house opposite our house. After having lightly sketched the two views, I chose to draw a second simple sketch of the downhill view as this was the best direction to create distance and receding lines.

As this was an exercise to convey a simple technique I decided beforehand that I wanted to use washes of colour to block in the shapes, and to emphasise the linear perspective, I would use a prominent dark line to give clear direction and movement.

The photograph below shows my linear perspective painting. I am very pleased with the outcome and the perspective that I have created. By using the dark lines of paint, the perspective was clear to see and with the washes of colour, just gave a bit of detail without detracting from the aim of the exercise. One thing that I do think could have been improved on was the road on the left hand side which could have separted more to create a better sense of space and closeness.

IMG_7032

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

……………………………….

Leave a comment